MDL Governance Committee

The MDL Governance Committee guides and oversees MDL, including policy; mission and vision; fiscal oversight; planning; advocacy and advancement; partnership strategies and development; and communication with key constituencies and complementary organizations.

The MDL Governance Committee is comprised of leaders representing a variety of cultural heritage organizations and libraries. Committee membership consists of four standing members and seven rotating members from organizations that have partnered with MDL.

Upcoming Meeting Dates

  • August 24, 2020
  • November 16, 2020

Standing Members

  • John Butler
    University of Minnesota Representative
    Associate University Librarian for Data & Technology, University of Minnesota
  • Jennifer R. Nelson
    Minnesota State Library Services Representative
    Director & State Librarian
  • Shawn Rounds
    Minnesota Historical Society Representative
    Director of Library & Archives, Minnesota Historical Society
  • Maggie Snow
    Minitex Representative
    Director, Minitex

Rotating Members

Term expiration dates are listed in parentheses.

  • Rebecca Desens
    Cultural Heritage Society Representatative (2020)
    Executive Director, Anoka County Historical Society
  • Elizabeth Lincoln—Treasurer
    Governmental Library Representative (2020)
    Director & Reference Librarian, Minnesota Legislative Reference Library
  • Carla Lydon
    Public Library Representative (2021)
    Executive Director, East Central Regional Library
  • Steve Penick—Vice-chair
    Historical Society Representative (2021)
    Archivist, Stearns History Museum
  • Matt Rosendahl
    Academic Institution Representative (2021)
    Library Director, Kathryn A. Martin Library, University of Minnesota Duluth
  • Bradley Schaffner—Chair
    Academic Institution Representative (2020)
    College Librarian, Carleton College
  • Vacant
    Public Library Representative (2020)

Ex-Officio Staff Liaison

  • Jolie Graybill
    Assistant Director for Digital Initiatives & Metadata Education, Minitex
  • Zach Miller
    Committee Secretary
    Communications Coordinator, Minitex

back to top

Minnesota Reflections Selection Committee

The Minnesota Reflections Selection Committee is comprised of librarians, educators, and history professionals. The committee’s charge is to review and offer comments on project proposals from cultural heritage organizations, libraries, and other significant community and educational organizations from across the state. Approval of proposed projects for inclusion in the Minnesota Reflections collection is based on a simple majority of committee votes. Committee members are recruited from organizations representative of the contributor base of Minnesota Reflections and are recognized in their fields. Terms of service on the committee rotate and are staggered over a three-year cycle.

Members, Phase 16 (2019-2020)

  • Tracey Baker
    Tracey Baker is a retired Head of Reference at the Minnesota Historical Society, now a consultant and volunteer engaged in a variety of activities.
  • Sarah Hawkins
    Sarah Hawkins works at the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA) as a Project Manager. She studied history at the College of Saint Benedict and is passionate about sharing Minnesota history with the public in meaningful and inspiring ways.
  • Frederick Johnson
    Frederick Johnson is the author of ten books and numerous magazine articles about Minnesota history. The retired St. Paul teacher lives in Cottage Grove.
  • Heidi Kloempken
    Heidi Kloempken works at the Minnesota Historical Society in Teacher Education, planning workshops and developing curriculum. After studying history and social studies education at the University of Minnesota, Heidi taught in Texas for four years before returning to The North Star State.
  • Lydia Lucas
    Lydia Lucas is a retired archivist who has undertaken consulting and processing projects for several organizations, including the Minnesota Historical Society, Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board, and Mn/DOT Library.
  • David Nichols
    David Nichols is the Curator of Collections for the Scott County Historical Society. He studied History and Museum Studies at Minnesota State University, and has worked on several legacy grants with museums across southern Minnesota.
  • Susan Vossberg
    Susan Vossberg is the Technical Services librarian at Northwestern Health Sciences University. She is also involved with the school's digital asset management project.
  • Bonnie Wilson
    Bonnie Wilson is a retired Curator of Sound and Visual Collections at the Minnesota Historical Society, now an independent photo curator and consultant.

back to top